Encouragement · Trials · Worry

Got Acne?

Scripture Template (1).png

For anyone who has acne, or who has had acne, you know that it’s not fun.

I received a question today asking about acne and if I knew of any tips or had a skincare routine that helps keep things clear. Instead of answering this sweet face, personally, I thought I’d go public with it because of the vast amount of people acne affects.

About 4-5 years ago I went through a stint where I was breaking out like no one’s business; and, on top of it, I was developing scars because I couldn’t seem to stop touching my face, looking in the mirror, and leave things alone.

I wasn’t used to getting acne, especially the acne that would turn into a painful blob-of-a-monster; so, I kind of became consumed and obsessed with it.

If I had a picture to show you, I would, but back then I had to wear makeup to keep myself from becoming consumed by these “imperfections.” Also, as a side note, perfectionism was a struggle for me… but that’s for another day.

Long story short, it was during this acne attack that I actually ended up handing my life over to Jesus. What does this have to do with anything, you ask?

Well, when I did, it took a lot of the focus off of myself and put it onto Jesus. Not only that, but I started to understand how much I was worth in this world, and to God; and, in response, the stress I was feeling started to naturally decrease, without me even realizing it. This Jesus encounter, for me, was the beginning to a health journey I didn’t even realize I was going to be on.

Now, I’m not saying that Jesus is going to cure your acne; but, what I am saying is that a large part of acne can be triggered by stress (stress from three weeks ago, even). When you’re stressed, and then, on top of that, your stressed that your stressed because you’re now seeing acne (or more acne) that happens to be part of the reason that’s got you stressed, everything compiles and starts to become worse. You get down on yourself, you start seeing yourself as ugly, have anxiety from feelings of not having control, and so on and so forth. Things just go from bad, to worse.

So, to more specifically address the question, the first thing I’d really recommend doing is pursuing God until you understand, inside and out, how much you are loved. You need to understand who your Creator is and that He made you, all of you, and that His craftsmanship is without flaw—there was no accident in your making.

Second, while you’re pursing the first, it also really helps to understand how the original sin of Adam and Eve took its toll on not only the universe, but us.

As for more of the practical stuff, I’ve done some research and, when it comes down to it, all skin is so different, being affected by such different things, and for so many different reasons, that looking at someone else’s skincare routine becomes obsolete (and defeating).

You are you. You gotta figure out who you are and what works for you.

So, start with Jesus. He can take the stress and take the focus off of you. Once He does, you’ll have the peace of mind and the joy to be able to move forward, taking small steps to better what you eat/drink and how you take care of your body, without becoming defeated in the process. Remember, what you eat/drink is what your skin is made of. If you’re eating a bunch of factory manufactured, processed foods, it won’t help you any. Your skin regenerates from what you eat.

So, that’s my rant. That’s my solution. Acne can be very defeating; but, with Jesus, it doesn’t have to be. He’ll take your hand and walk you right out of shame and defeat and into the light, turning your focus off of you and putting it onto Him.

There is a reason for your acne, let Him show you what it is.

For any further questions, don’t hesitate to message me.

Blessings, friends!

Leave A Reply